Skip to content

prayer request…

24/02/2012

It has come to our attention that Patty (see story below) is terminal with biliary stenosis and failing liver.  The doctors are giving no hope.  Her story was one of many events that emphasized Cindy and I were where God would have us be.  The following is a copy of post from June of 2009… I won’t do this very often but seems appropriate here.  Please pray for the family and for Vivian who continues to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with this family.  We desire to see fruit of a new creation LORD…

From June 2009…

When our youngest daughter was 3 and 4 years old and wanted your undivided attention, she would put her little hands on each side of your face and pull your face into hers, eye to eye, nose to nose…  Choose to believe it or not we  had one of those days with God today.

It began sometime ago when someone unknown to us donated a red motorized wheelchair to Samaritan’s Purse and they put it on the latest container.  I have read the manifests for these containers on more than one occasion and frankly did not see this listed.  We have had almost 20 ministries in the warehouse this week and at least half of them would have taken this.  We are a first come, first serve kind of facility.  If anyone had seen it and asked for it, we would not have refused it.  It has been on a pallet sitting directly in front of the bay doors where every one of the above ministries loaded their vehicles.   It remained there until today.

Two days ago Vivian wrote requesting a motorized wheelchair.  Having read the manifests on more than one occasion I dutifully replied we did not have that particular need but would help with everything else she asked for.  Cindy and I have been working at bringing order out of chaos since the containers arrived on Monday.   At 9:50 this morning we started in on the next pallet and there was this red motorized wheelchair.  I told Cindy someone asked for this – 20 emails and 25 phone calls ago.  I would have to go back and find the email tonight.  I took a couple of e-cylinders and boxes off the pallet… and this white pickup backs up to the door.  We greet each other appropriately, still doesn’t click that this is the person who had made the request.  She goes to the passenger side and says she has brought a friend – “ould we fit her with new crutches?”  Of course we can… Vivian gently whispered,  “this the one I wanted the motorized wheelchair for!  She doesn’t know the LORD and I have been sharing with her how the LORD loves her.”  —  it was along moment before I could speak.  I looked Vivian in the face and said did you pray for this after we emailed a couple of days ago.  She said, “Oh yes and my friends at the orphanage too.”   I took Vivian by the arm, left Patty her friend on those old beat up crutches, and said “You have a story to tell to Patty and to our praying friends and walked her the 10 feet to the shiny red wheelchair.  I got another of the those unforgettable hugs, she sobbed, Cindy and I shed tears of rejoicing…. it was a GOD moment.

As Christians we serve the Only True God.  We serve the Only God capable of answering His children’s prayers.  There is no false god that can do what He can do.  Again like Job, I can only clasp my hand over my mouth, I have nothing to say that can add to a moment like that.  To speak, to try to set it up to take a photo of it is to make it unholy.

I have tears in my eyes as I write this.  I can think of a hundred little things, even good things that would have kept what happened from happening.  Our friend Patty, 44 y/o who got polio at age 1 and survived, got to see Jesus provide for her in a real way.   A way  was made where there was no way.  Patty saw three people praise their LORD and Redeemer.  She heard the prayers of three for her.  We wait to see what will come of the Holy Spirits work of regeneration.

I did take photos later that morning.  You should have heard the ladies laugh when I told Patty to be careful that the chair was safety rated for 300 pounds (she only weighs a hundred pounds because of the metal in her leg braces).   The photo file tied to this post at the Smugmug blog can be accessed through this link…  http://dennis51.smugmug.com/Guatemala/Vine-International-Bodega/This-is-the-Day-the-Lord-hath/10549198_Ld46p#732671871_7FsRZ

The first three photos are Vivian Teos, Cindy and Patty in the chair.  For clarification the rest of the photos are of a project that I took out of this post.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers

