Skip to content

Return to Guatemala and The Letters…

18/01/2014
Our good neighbors

Our good neighbors

Mar 12:42-44 And there came a certain poor widow, and she threw in two mites, which make a farthing.  And he called unto him his disciples, and saith unto them, Verily I say unto you, That this poor widow hath cast more in, than all they which have cast into the treasury:  For all they did cast in of their abundance; but she of her want did cast in all that she had, even all her living.  (KJV)

We had a blessed time with family and checking in with supporters while we (I) gained about 12 pounds during our month in the states.  There are so many ways you support and encourage us.  Loan of a car, feeding us, giving opportunity to share our stories, jumping in and helping when pipe leaked in the ceiling, this list goes on.  Most of you would be embarrassed if we publicly put your names out so please know we remember and we are grateful.

I am always embarrassed when people talk about our sacrifice… LISTEN… It is NO sacrifice to do in obedience that which God puts before you to do.  He gave His Son for us, what ever can we give back in light of that???  Now I will confess it is hard to kiss your granddaughters goodbye, to hug your sons and daughters (Hadley and Jeremy you are always included in that phrase) and turn your backs and leave.  I know there may be a time when that is the last time and we do miss these treasures that God has given us.  BUT compared to Christ, even that is not a sacrifice.

We returned and while unloading I heard footsteps racing up behind and could not get turned around in time.  We received big hugs from Gabby (far left in photo)and a little later all of our neighbors, Dona Lilly, Luz, Juan Carlos, Ruby and little Anna Lu, were in our house.  They had cleaned the floors and counters, and even my desk was (ahem) organized.  Gabby returned a few minutes later with a couple of letters in her hands.

Now, you know how I look.  If I am in red shirt I look like the quintessential Coca Cola interpretation of Santa Claus.  I do not push the issue, believing it is a distraction from the truth of Christmas, but when you look as I do, things happen.  I get approached in public and business men have offered to pay me to be Santa Claus at their parties – for significant pay, which I refuse.  There is an orphanage and a couple of other entities where they deal with children who are orphans, abused or ill and I do respond in those situations but don’t brag about it publicly.  I say that as an introduction to ‘the letters’.  Up the main driveway from our house is another neighbor with several young children.  Nachito, is slightly retarded and stares at me or shouts Santa Claus whenever he sees me.   He wrote a letter and put it in our mailbox after Cindy and I left for the USA.  Obviously we could not do anything about this having no knowledge of this precious note.  His scrawled printed note said all he wanted for Christmas was a bicycle and he knows this is the house of Santa Claus.  His sister also wrote a note asking for peace here in Guatemala and the world.

Here is what my neighbor Dona Lilly’s children did – Juan Carlos, Gabby’s brother and I believe all the kids had a hand in the project, took one of their bicycles, cleaned and painted it.  Then they made Nachito’s mother cry when they delivered the bike – made me cry when I heard the story.  Sacrifice you say?  Whew!  My mother sent a support check to a niece who is in active mission work.  My niece wrote back thanking mom for her sacrificial gift.  My mother has a bit of a crust to her dear old soul – wrote back and said, “As long as Americans (US citizens) keep their pets, pop and entertainment they do not know what sacrificial giving is.”  The USA has more MRI and CT scanners for their pets than Christian medical missionaries can provide for the care of the patients God gives them in all of Latin America and possibly world wide.  These children could not afford to buy a bike for themselves, instead gave one of theirs in answer to a precious request AND they gave the credit to another.

LORD JESUS, may You and You alone get the glory for all that we do in obedience to Your call.  Show us how to give as the widow gave, how to give in a way that makes our Father smile.  We ask this in Jesus name Amen.

Thank you for your support always.

In Christ,  Dennis and Cindy McCutcheon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

